Hidee Ho, exmormon rinos

The catch-all forum for general topics and debates. Minimal moderation. Rated PG to PG-13.
_Stan Fan aka Che Dali
_Emeritus

Hidee Ho, exmormon rinos

Post by _Stan Fan aka Che Dali »

I’ll give you my abreviated life story, since I’ve been working on the long version for about 10 years and it’s still not done.

- born into a mixed marriage. Father jack Mormon, mom, never mo - both agnostic & very liberal.

- Grandparents from a long line of Mormons going back to England back in the early days of Mormonism. Which made me something like 6th generation Mormon, sort of.

- Grandparents saw to it that I was baptized when I was 8, even though it meant nothing to me.

- Sporadically attended Mormon church growing up, but my very libreal parents didn’t really care one way or another if we went.

- found my parents agnostic, liberal, suburban whitebread existence pretty meaningless and unfullfilling about the same time Alex Haley’s “Roots” hit TV.

-Decided I needed to get in touch with my roots, which to me, at the time, went clear back to Africa, Olduvi Gorge, the dawn of man, Austrolopithicus Africanus.

-Went to clear to Africa, hitchhiking most of the way, via all over the US, North, South, East, West, Europe and N. Africa.

-Ended up on the Barbary Coast, Morocco.

-Asimilated into Morrocan society, clothes, speech, food, and naturally, religion.

-gained access to a Mosque via my Muslim brothers.