Ethics Scenario

The catch-all forum for general topics and debates. Minimal moderation. Rated PG to PG-13.
_GoodK

Ethics Scenario

Post by _GoodK »

When I worked in finance, our legal/compliance department would send out monthly "ethics scenarios" via email posing hypothetical situations dealing with kickbacks, conflicts of interest, etc.

Since I have a real life ethics scenario troubling me at the moment, I thought I would seek the advice of this distinguished group. Before reading, I want you to know I am being 100% sincere. Continue.

I have been made aware of a rather embarrassing bit of personal information about a Mormon Gulag executive. First, a little

Background:

This person is a very tenured and high ranking staff member, and is also involved in one of the gulag's other sister program.

This person appeared on my "The Bad Ones" list long before I found this out.

The Scenario:

Let's just call this Gulag executive "Roy." Roy, his wife, and his children lived in Utah County were he was a bishop in his ward.

One day a woman came to his office, seeking the advice of her bishop for her marital problems. An affair transpired, they were caught, and Roy was excommunicated. His wife divorced him, and Roy has since remarried to his mistress. I received information a month ago from my best informant, another staff member, about Roy's excommunication. I then received the same information from another independent source that currently works with Roy.

--

Considering that;
A. This is not a good person who has been abusive and cruel to children,
B. Apologists - like DCP and Bob Crockett, for example - take an active role in bringing to light the personal lives/skeletons of critics of the church (like Quinn),
C. This speaks to "Roy's" character and subsequently the leadership of the Mormon Gulag and its affiliates

Would you share this information publicly?

_Daniel Peterson
_Emeritus

Re: Ethics Scenario

Post by _Daniel Peterson »