I love it when our discussions end up on Reddit

The catch-all forum for general topics and debates. Minimal moderation. Rated PG to PG-13.
Marcus
God

I love it when our discussions end up on Reddit

Post by Marcus »

[–]Westwood_1[F] 10 points 1 day ago

Applying Bayesian reasoning

It's amazing how one experience can color your perceptions of something for the rest of your life. For example, I can't hear the phrase "Bayesian reasoning" without thinking of those two jokers, Dale and Dale, who published in the Interpreter regarding their "Bayesian" analysis that "proved" the Book of Mormon true (after heavily weighing any "supporting evidence" and discounting the weight of anything less positive).
---

[–]ImFeelingTheUte-iest 8 points 1 day ago

I tried to tell those jokers how problematic their likelihood function was (I am a PhD statistician with expertise in Bayesian survival analysis) and they wouldn't hear a word of it. I tried to argue that they didn't have any experts inform their likelihood judgments so they were meaningless and they just doubled down that they were the arbiters of how likelihood outcomes were under different hypotheses and they didn't need expert assessment. Complete jokers.
---

[–]LittlePhylacteries 4 points 1 day ago

I remember that episode. The prize that Dr. Moore offered up was a great way to demonstrate how far unjustifiable their analysis was.

First offer was $10,000

To win the prize, submissions must satisfy the following conditions:

Provide a proof, with data, that each probability is statistically independent (or if you prefer, uncorrelated or mathematically orthogonal) to each of the other probabilities.
Submit these proofs in writing.
Pass review by a current BYU statistics or stochastics professor of my choosing.
Then he reduced the burden: