Ideology, Religion, and Mormonism

The catch-all forum for general topics and debates. Minimal moderation. Rated PG to PG-13.
Kishkumen
God

Ideology, Religion, and Mormonism

Post by Kishkumen »

Years ago, I read a couple of books by the late Mircea Eliade, longtime faculty at University of Chicago’s Divinity School. I thought these books were amazing. They really appealed to me and seemed to mesh well with my reading of Hugh Nibley. Later, as a BYU student, I was jazzed to learn that Eliade had praised Nibley’s work. It was one of those times I felt like I must be hitting the right groove, so to speak.

Yesterday, I devoured Bruce Lincoln’s book (student of Eliade and emeritus Chicago Divinity faculty) about the mysterious murder of Eliade’s protege and successor Ioan Culianu. The book begins with a long discussion of Eliade’s politics back in the 1930s in Romania. Alas, it turns out that Eliade was pretty clearly a fascist and an anti-Semite, who at one point pretty clearly approved of violence to achieve his party’s goals. I have to say this was devastating news to me. Although Eliade is pretty far in my rear view mirror, I still think of that time in my life and the Nibley nexus pretty fondly.

But it makes me wonder about the yearning for a sacred past shared by Eliade and Nibley. Eliade was motivated by a deep seated conviction that an ethnocentric mystical Orthodoxy was the key to Romania’s future, and it seems he never left this obsession completely behind. Nibley had a similar devotion to the religion of Brigham Young, seeing it as “the key” to Zion.