Will the WoW shift toward a "sustainability revelation?"

The catch-all forum for general topics and debates. Minimal moderation. Rated PG to PG-13.
Dr Moore
Endowed Chair of Historical Innovation

Will the WoW shift toward a "sustainability revelation?"

Post by Dr Moore »

For the millennium to come, sustainability may just be the defining challenge for humankind. How will we evolve as a species to keep our planet hospitable?

Scientific consensus appears to overwhelmingly accept that drastic change is required to halt and repair damage to our atmosphere, oceans and forests. Now, before some of you jump on me over nits in the details of global warming or Seaspiracy, I'm not here to grind any political axes or stake out new ground on sustainability per se. I'm not an expert -- I'm just a fellow human sharing this planet with all the rest of you. But I am watching with great interest as society introduces innovative solutions to combat the rising risk of permanent, possibly catastrophic, global climate change.

Consider, for instance, Beyond Meat (BYND), which sold about $400 million in plant-based meat substitutes last year. Beyond aims to permanently impact the >$1 trillion global meat industry with a product that resembles the taste and texture of meat, but without the environmental impact of meat and eventually at a ~50% lower cost per pound for consumers. BYND is valued at $10 billion today. I've tried all of the Beyond products and have to say, it's really close. Not perfect, but definitely promising, and this is very, very early days. I don't think we'll ever go backward; it's a question of what pace going forward. Probably, like history, things will crawl and then leap. Anyhow, it's intriguing to wonder where meat substitutes will be in 10 years? 20 years? 50 years? If sustainability is an inevitable human imperative, then in what year will meat substitute sales exceed sales of actual meat?