Letter from my 18 year old self

The Off-Topic forum for anything non-LDS related, such as sports or politics. Rated PG through PG-13.
Jersey Girl
God

Letter from my 18 year old self

Post by Jersey Girl »

You guys. When I was a senior about to graduate from high school, one of our last assignments was to bring in a stamped addressed envelope and write a letter to ourselves in class with the understanding that the teacher would mail it to us in 10 years. She did. In my home travels today, I found it. Again.

I'm going to post the content here and replace one name with BF in an effort to protect the innocent or guilty. ;-) If you have anything like this to share (recall Dr. Shades missionary journal?) please feel free and if you comment on this...try to be kind. I'll probably comment on it myself. Every time I have read this over the years, I found it a bit uncomfortable to see who I was at age 18. Some things I wrote don't seem to add up and some sentences are just incomplete. And yet, I'm of a mind that whoever you were when you were young, you have brought that person with you as you went forward in life. I can see some of my "today self" in the words to some extent, and some areas where I didn't express myself as truthfully as I could have.

Please excuse my pathetic writing skills at age 18. I'm leaving the slang and teen affectations in for good measure.
" I am glad to be be getting out of school. I guess I learned a lot but I learned more out of school. The system is bad. School gives you no responsibility. I will only miss Mr. Vecchione's junior history class and vocat, even though I will proberly see the girls around.

I have been going with BF six months now we plan to get engaged on (date) a year from the day we started going out. We aren't getting married for a couple of years because BF is going to be a cop.

Tonight we are going to the Rock 'n Roll Revival at Madison Square Garden instead of the Senior Ball. I really would have liked to go but.