Personal Debt/Goals/Accomplishments

The Off-Topic forum for anything non-LDS related, such as sports or politics. Rated PG through PG-13.
ceeboo
God

Personal Debt/Goals/Accomplishments

Post by ceeboo »

Hey all,

Table setting: I grew up in a very lower middle class family. When I left the nest after graduating high school, I dropped out of a local community college (twice) and had many lower paying jobs before I got into sales. Sales is what I have been doing for the last 30 years. I should also mention, because it played a major factor in what I will describe below, that I had a horrific gambling problem for decades until about 3 years ago.

It was about 3 years ago that my gorgeous wife and I decided that we wanted to get out of our personal debt that we accumulated over many years. When we first began discussing this, we wrote out all of our debt (not including the mortgage) and we were stunned by the number. This debt was credit cards, one car note, and one personal line of credit. In total, we had over $58,000.00 in personal debt. I understand that this number wouldn't be concerning to many - it's all relative to income and such - but to us, this was a big number and we felt a little overwhelmed and we were clearly seeing that we were slaves to these lenders. We wanted out! We wanted to be free!